Let the Thanksgiving Traditions Begin

I love Thanksgiving. It’s my very favorite holiday and also happens to be my very favorite meal. It’s really just about truly being grateful for all our blessings, good food and being with the special people in your life. To me it’s just a whole lot of fun, hanging out in the kitchen cooking, laughing, and remembering. There’s also an excitement in the air that you can almost reach out and touch. It mostly comes from the kids, since to them, Thanksgiving means Christmas isn’t far away.

Today, Thanksgiving Eve, will start our family traditions. The kids will make the pumpkin pies with their dad while I make the stuffing. We’ll then set up our Christmas Village. I think my eleven year old cherub is the one who really enjoys this the most. From the first time he could climb up on the chair for a better look he has always just loved the little lighted village. It’s very sweet and even as a giant 5’1″ 108 lb eleven year old, he still loves it. It tugs at this mama’s heart I tell ya. If he ever stops loving the Christmas Village I may have to forbid any of my children from ever having another birthday ever again. They must slow down with this growing up business. Enough is enough. I’m not so sure how much of this my heart I can take.

Here’s a pic from a Thanksgiving of yore …

When we go to bed tonight the house will already start to have the delicious scents of the next day’s dinner floating throughout.

Tomorrow morning, Sam the Elf, will magically make the first of his daily appearances from now until Christmas Eve.

I’ll head back to the kitchen and really kick things into gear while the Macy’s day parade is on the t.v. This year I wanted to keep the menu simple and traditional, just good, straightforward, delicious food.

Soon the first guests will arrive and then more memories will be made.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Jayne Garon

     /  November 24, 2011

    Wonderful story!!!

    Reply
  2. Jayne Garon

     /  November 24, 2011

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    Reply
  3. Auntie Joan

     /  December 1, 2011

    Well Susan, you have done it again!! I really love your stories. Brings back lots of old
    memories of when I was a little girl and of course all the Thanksgiving Days we had
    together on Pine Street. I love your “ideas” for your dining room and agree that the rustic
    look is just perfect for you. Looks as though the cherubs had a great halloween even if Mom wasn’t really into it (we never are yo know, too much work for such a little while, but the kids always have fun and that’s what it’s all about…..right, but wait, someday you’ll be doing the same thing only for your grandchildren…..I guarantee that’s when you will really get a kick out of it ’cause you don’t have to do any of the work, that’s for their Mom to do as you just sit back and relax). Keep up the wonderful stories, you should put all this in a book and publish it………..love it…..love it…..love it!!

    Auntie Joan

    Reply
  4. paula

     /  January 10, 2012

    Hey, we need some new stories!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Things I Like

    he'd be a great addition to my newly discovered owl love

  • Try this!

    Spaghetti with spinach - my picky eaters ate it up!

  • I’ve Got To Make This!

    Double-Dark Mocha Cookies

  • Something Else I’d Like to Make

    So cute and would be great as part of a gallery wall. Check out the tutorial at Jones Design Company.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

