Table for Five Please

We were lucky that the cozy cottage came with a few things- a refrigerator, an oven, a microwave, a toaster, a framed map of the lake, an old wooden chair and a picnic table. Everything was in really good shape and very clean too, except for the picnic table (and the old wooden chair, but that’s tale for another day). It had been sitting outside for who knows how long, and it showed. The picnic table came in so handy though, so we would just throw a table cloth over it. But, I’d had enough. It was time to paint that thing.

I should begin by saying that it’s been a bit of an adjustment for me, this whole cottage by the lake thing. We’ve always vacationed at the ocean. I love the ocean. I do like lakes too, but lakes are in woodsy places and I’m not so good in the woods.

So painting the table was not only a step to slowly putting our own touch on the cottage. I really needed a place to sit outside where I could chill and not feel my toes starting to curl.

I stopped at the paint store on the way to the cottage. I knew I wanted a bluish-greenish-grayish color. The kids helped me look and then we found it – a Valspar color called none other than Summer Cottage! Perfect. I picked up a few cheap paintbrushes, in addition to a decent one, so the cherubs could help. I also grabbed a couple of scraping tools. I couldn’t wait to start.

When I took another look at that disgusting table I realized we had a bit of work ahead of us before we could open the paint can.

I worked on it for about two days off and on, with the help of my assistant.

All the while, my second assistant decided she’d make cookies for the bugs instead of working on the picnic table.

The first night after we started, it poured all night long. As it turned out the rain was a great help. The paint peeled off the table like a banana. We continued to peel and scrape, did some sanding, and waited until the next morning to paint.

When my burly man showed up the next afternoon we suprised him with a fresh, clean picnic table.

The table also provided front row seats for the live performances of a certain dancing three-year old.

I originally wanted to buy a quart of paint. The woman at the paint counter somehow talked me into a gallon. Needless to say, I have a lot of paint leftover. I’m thinking of maybe painting the kitchen cabinets with it. Does anyone have any experience with using exterior paint on kitchen cabinets?

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jayne

     /  August 23, 2011

    Oh!!!! my little princess dancing and making cookies for the bugs!!!!So adorable.

    Reply
  2. Auntie Joan

     /  September 1, 2011

    Love your blog! I’m looking for a bit more than once a month, I enjoy reading it so much and just when It’s making me want to know what’s next, it’s done. Come on Sue, I know there’s more story in there (haha)!

    Miss seeing the you and the kids but I have to say my life has been very busy this summer to say the least. Now, that’s a story for another day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Things I Like

    he'd be a great addition to my newly discovered owl love

  • Try this!

    Spaghetti with spinach - my picky eaters ate it up!

  • I’ve Got To Make This!

    Double-Dark Mocha Cookies

  • Something Else I’d Like to Make

    So cute and would be great as part of a gallery wall. Check out the tutorial at Jones Design Company.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

